Article: How to Password Protect the Planner

Article Summary: "This article describes the various ways in which you can password protect the Staff Leave Planner."


The Staff Leave Planner can be protected in a variety of ways to prevent or limit access to the planner and it's features. You can use the built in planner security (recommended), Excel's own security (password to open / modify) or if you are running on a Windows network you can use Windows based security.

The table below summarises the various protection methods available. Listed beneath the table are the instructions to apply these settings to the planner.

Protection Method Summary of Protection Offered
Protecting with an Admin Password (recommended) This is custom protection built into the Staff Leave Planner.

You can set protection so that users without the password cannot access the planner, or Users without the password can be restricted to seeing just a read only copy of the calendar. All other worksheets will be inaccessible.

dhxsoft is able to retrieve this password if it is lost.
Protecting with a Password to Open This uses Excel's built in protection.

Users without the password will be unable to open the planner. Therefore all worksheets and features of the planner will be inaccessible.

Please note that dhxsoft cannot retrieve this type of password if it is lost.
Protecting with a Password to Modify This uses Excel's built in protection.

Users without the password will open a read only copy of the planner, which grants access to all of the worksheets, allows them to generate reports and make changes to the calendar, but they will only be able to save their changes into another copy of the planner.

Please note that dhxsoft cannot retrieve this type of password if it is lost.
Limiting access via Windows based authentication This can be achieved through sharing the planner on a network drive and restricting the read and modify permissions for each Windows user. Permissions can be setup to:
- Have full access to the planner.
- Have read-only access to the planner - all features will be accessible, but saving will not be allowed. - Have no access to the planner.

This type of protection needs to be setup and maintained by your IT team.


Protecting the Planner with an Admin Password

An admin password will present the user with a password when they try to login to the planner (see image below). If the user does not know the password, they have the option to view a read only copy of the planner via the button highlighted below in red.
Planner Protection
Note: You can disable the read only option completely and just have an admin password.

A read only copy of the planner will just contain the calendar and key sheets. Users will not be able to make changes to this copy of the calendar, so essentially it is for their information only.

Read Only Planner

How to Setup an Admin Password

To setup the planner with an admin password, follow the steps below:
  • Login to the planner and click on the orange "General Settings" button. The settings form will load.
  • Settings form
  • Click on the "Set / Edit Admin Password" button.
  • Enter the password into both fields and click on "Set Password". You can also remove the password from this form.
  • If you want non admin users to see a read only copy of the planner, check on the "Allow Non-Admin users to view a read only copy of the planner" option.
  • If you want to hide the leave information columns from the read only planner, check the option "Remove the information columns from the calendar sheets".
  • Click on the apply button to close the form.
  • Save the planner to permanently apply the changes.


How to Setup a Password to Open

A password to open prevents the users from accessing the workbook unless they have the password. Note: This uses the built in Excel protection so we are unable to recover this type of password for you.

Password to Open

To setup the planner with a password to open, follow the steps below:
  • Login to the planner and click on the orange "General Settings" button. The settings form will load.
  • Settings form
  • Enter the password into both fields and click on "Set Password". You can also remove the password from this form.
  • Click on the apply button to close the form.
  • Save the planner to permanently apply the changes.


How to Setup a Password to Modify

The password to modify allows you to grant everyone read access to the planner, however they cannot save any changes to it.

Password to Modify

To setup the planner with a password to modify, follow the steps below:
  • Login to the planner and click on the orange "General Settings" button. The settings form will load.
  • Settings form
  • Click on the "Set / Edit the Password to Modify" button.
  • Enter the password into both fields and click on "Set Password". You can also remove the password from this form.
  • Click on the apply button to close the form.
  • Save the planner to permanently apply the changes.



Copyright of dhxsoft limited 2017 Registered Limited Company no 7351430. 119 Addison Road, Guildford, Surrey, GU1 3QE Terms and conditions